Thing 4: Photo Sharing, Part 3

Girl Taking Photo of Dog

N.d.; National Media Museum; Bradford, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Whenever I explore a ‘new to  me’  Web 2.0 technology, or I revisit something neat that I have not used in a long while, I think about how I might use this at school. Could this be used in the classroom, or as way to promote a particular program. If I cannot answer these questions, I should move on to something else. While exploring Flickr, I walked away with some interesting ideas.

I like that people can post images with Creative Commons licensing and that you can search for images that have a Creative Commons license. This option is found on Flickr’s advanced search page. The challenges are that (1) the only link I have found to advanced search is at the top of a search results page, and (2) the options for Creative Commons are at the bottom of the advanced search page. I could see  myself using this with students to help them understand the difference between copyright and licensing. This discussion would be meaningful for high school students who would tend to be the creative types because they probably have things that they wish to share with others. This would also be valuable to students (and teachers) creating educational  resources.

I also like the idea of Flickr Commons, photographic archives from institutions around the world. Fortunately, you can get to this from the main page. These are historical photographs of people, places, and events. Metadata (e.g.: title, date, physical description, repository, etc.) is also readily available for these images. I now find myself regularly checking Flickr Commons (as well as the advanced search’s limit to Creative Commons) for images to be included as part of my blog postings or slide show presentations. I could see myself using Flickr Commons with social studies or other classes seeking historical photographs for their class projects. I could also see myself using it to talk with students about attribution and citing sources for their research projects.

I am glad that I revisited Flickr. This Web 2.0 tool has many neat characteristics that can easily be used with my Middle School and High School students to provide them with both a historical context for their lessons as well as a better understanding the need for attribution of other’s creative works.

One thought on “Thing 4: Photo Sharing, Part 3

  1. I wish they had an obvious link to get to advanced search too. Better yet, a link that quickly limits to CC photos. I’ve been using PhotoPin.com more and more for just that reason.

Leave a Reply

