Thing 02: Online Communities & Personal Learning Networks

I find personal learning networks real important. In addition to tweeting on Twitter (I am @drydenlibrarian) and following the NYLA/SSL group on Facebook (this is the state-wide organization for school librarians), I also follow LM-NET (a listserve for SLMS), and a couple of other Facebook groups.

The challenge I have with ‘exploring’ new online communities (or for that matter, other Web 2.0 things) is that if I cannot see how I might use it at school, either with students or to provide library services to the school community, I am less likely to spend time digging into them. Similarly, if it won’t get past the internet filter, I’m also less likely to play around with something.

This indeed can be frustrating and I hope to be able to influence a change in this situation. Hey, if I can teach the athletic director (now retired, @drydenathletics) how to Twitter, I think I can do almost anything 🙂

2 thoughts on “Thing 02: Online Communities & Personal Learning Networks

Leave a Reply

